top of page

Breaking the forth wall, good or bad in books?

So I finally went out and saw Deadpool last night. First off let me just say this movie is the greatest movie ever made and will have no rival until the second is made. Secondly, how was I already not a fan of him as a character? He is the epitome of me, except I don't know how to swing swords or shoot that well, or have a toned body...anyway I should have been a huge fan of this guy and never really was. I liked the character but not fan wise.

When I first started my journey of becoming an author, one of the very first ideas I had was to write a 4th wall book. Some of my smarter more knowledgeable book reading friends said it would be very hard because in comics, more specifically in Deadpool comics, he looks at the reader and says things. Its done in movies, TV shows, and plays, not so much in books.

For those of you reading this that don't know what a fourth wall break is, well its basically when the main character engages the audience and pulls them into the story. So in a movie the character will look right into the camera and say something. A good example of this is Ferris Bueller's day off. He engages the audience like they were actually there.

I guess my big question here is would a fourth wall book interest you or does it sound ridicoulous? Let me know what you think of the idea either in the comments or on my FB page or Twitter. Thanks!!


Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page